In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Living in a society with various paths for occupation opportunities has allowed young adults to decide their specific orientation, and there is a growing tendency among them to seek specialized practice experiences instead of attending academic environments like college. While there are a few benefits from this alteration, I believe the drawbacks should be taken into more crucial consideration.

One of the most noticeable advantages of enrolling in vocational training early on is the practical knowledge and ideal application that people can acquire. For instance, adolescents who are concerned about engineering or other aspects that require a long time of practicing with realistic tools may have an early advantage over those only studying theoretical techniques at school. As a result, experienced employees may gain more chances to apply for potential positions. In addition, experience from work-based training not only involves basic understanding but also necessarily social skills to fully adapt to the workplace. It brings activeness and positive reinforcement, contributing to general progress at work.

On the other hand, receiving practical training without former bases of theoretical knowledge may cause some disadvantages. Colleges play a key role in your path to success, improving individuals’ potential capabilities in their major and providing valuable networks for future careers. The fact is that numerous repetitious businesses or corporations still examine and assess their applicants’ qualifications, and in some specific contexts, they may reject one’s resume if one has never attended any universities. In addition, college degrees at any level can contribute to easy promotion at work, especially in several particular fields that require higher proper education. For example, doctors or surgeons have to study at universities for certain years before being able to diagnose and treat patients, which is impossible for those who only opt for practical training.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of increasing work-based training for careers among young people may outweigh the benefits. Whatever choices they orientate for occupations, it is crucial to balance the theoretical knowledge and realistic skills acquired over the years, and being active in all activities can bring surprising growth.