In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high schools and starting universities studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people who decide to do this.

Some people take a long break of studying for enjoy of there life and explore themselves, this have some advantages and downsides as well.

First and foremost, there are some benefits of taking a long break, for instance, it helps you prepare yourself mentally for university, moreover, you will can choose your university major carefully, so that you don’t ragret choosing your major too quickly later, additionally you will can understand yourself better and search other areas of interest, that will develop you in many ways of your life, to make you better than people who haven’t explored their skills.

On the other hand, it has some drawbacks as well, like you will miss out on some job opportunities that have age requirements, like military academy, also you may not able to get into your desired major, due to age competition, however, when you go to university maybe the first year will be tough, because of your academic inactivity due to the entire year you didn’t study.

In conclusion, gap year have some advantages, like choosing your university major carefully, you will understand yourself mentally for university, and choose the university major carefully, while it also have some downsides, like you might miss out on some job opportunities, and maybe not able to get into your desired major.