In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high schools and starting universities studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, young people are told to work or travel for one year after finishing school and before going to university. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this idea.

One of the main advantages is that young people can get more life experience. When they work, they can learn how to manage money and understand how difficult real life can be. For example, some students get part-time jobs and save money for their future study. Also, if they travel, they can meet new people and learn about different cultures, which make them more open minded. This experience can help them when they start university, because they are more mature and independent.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages too. One problem is that some students may lose their study habit. If they stop studying for a year, it might be hard to return to academic life. Another issue is that traveling or working for a year can be expensive. Not every family can afford it, and some young people may have to do boring or low-paid jobs which do not help their future career. So, instead of improving, they might waste time.

In conclusion, taking a year off between school and university has both good and bad sides. It can give young people useful experience and independence, but it can also make them forget study and cost too much money. I think it depends on the person if this choice is right or not.