In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high schools and starting universities studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel between the time period of high school and preparing to attend University studies. There can be both pros and cons to working and travelling in this gap year.

Most teenagers are likely to want to work after finishing high school. For this reason they want to have their own money and manage their future career. In European countries, some of the students have their own responsibility.For example, a student who is working after finishing high school can get more life experience. In addition he can live without getting support from his parents.Travelling is also good for the students who want to have a golden time at a young age. It is not only having precious time but also making a memory and experience of going abroad. This can also provide the benefit of studying at university abroad.

Conversely, there are some cons about working and travelling. For instance, teenagers need correct guidance regarding their career opportunities. If a student works without exploring the environment, he can get stuck in a routine and lack an appreciation for teenage life and nature. In the case of travelling, it can offer the full potential of sensing nature but it can be expensive without having income. For example, a student travelling with parents’ money may not develop a sense of responsibility.

In conclusion, young people who work and travel during the gap year between finishing high school and attending university experience both advantages and disadvantages. It depends on a student’s situation and their guardian.