In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

In many educational systems, the majority of girls are inclined to study arts fields such as languages and paintings, while males choose science subjects like maths, chemistry and physics. I think it is due to humans’ brain functions and natural reflection to the outside world. Generally, I strongly believe that this tendency should not be altered.

Although there is a difference between genders when it comes to having interests in different subjects, it is totally normal and there are two reasons. First and foremost, our brain functions. Mostly, for boys, the prefrontal cortex is responsible for what they want to study. It is responsible for logical and critical thinking. However, for girls, the left hemisphere and amygdala respond to emotional reasons. Therefore, girls and boys tend to choose contrasting subjects.

Moreover, the reason why boys are interested in science fields, but females tend to learn arts, is because of our natural response to extrinsic trends and traditions. Conventionally, girls are mostly delicate, polite and emotionally vulnerable. Plus, many families try to foster their girls’ emotional intelligence and creative skills. As a result of which, females are mostly best at languages, paintings and writing. On the other hand, if they have boys, their family members, fathers in particular, may encourage children’s physicality and logical thinking. In the long run, boys usually reflect calculating, engineering and real-life skills.

However, I think this tendency is completely normal and should not be changed, only because everybody has their own path and biologically girls can learn arts faster, while boys usually have a superiority for science. Apart from that, this tendency is encouraged conventionally. If this trend changed, girls and boys would show academic excellence only because of brain functions. For maintaining peak academic performance, this tendency should not be modified.

Despite there is a difference between genders’ interests, I believe the tendency of learning and choosing subjects is normal not only conventionally, but also because of brain functions.