In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

In many schooling systems, it is becoming more typical for male students to choose science-related subjects and female students to opt for arts fields. From my perspective, this popular distinction generally stems from gender stereotypes, and thus should be discouraged in order to foster personal and social growth.

In terms of this tendency’s causes, traditional gender roles tend to contribute heavily to each student’s subject choices. In fact, it is widely assumed that girls are highly emotional, more delicate and fluent in expression, which are essential qualities for arts subjects like language. Compared to girls, boys, by nature, are thought to be smarter, logicer, and more passionate about science. As a result, many people hold the belief that they should choose scientific fields, such as Physics or Mathematics, which can be more suitable for them. However, these entrenched expectations can instill a gender-driven perception in young individuals’ minds, which often encourages them to choose subjects based on their gender. In addition, the shortage of role models of female well-known figures in some fields, such as information technology or politics, gradually motivates young females to believe in the fact that they do not suit these academic and practical subjects. One notable example can be seen in the low participation rate of women in political activities in many countries like India, which demonstrate the long-term existence of gender bias.

Given such considerations, I hold the strong belief that this trend should be modified so that people can get equal access to all areas of knowledge and the talent pool can be widened further. In practice, many individuals’ subject choices are generally based on conventional societal norms rather than their natural aptitude. Therefore, it is impossible to judge whether they have chosen the right educational paths or not. Additionally, following fields that may not be their academic interest can trigger demotivation and self-doubt, which prevent their development and hinder them from reaching their full potential. Furthermore, if students are given the freedom to pursue their favorite subjects regardless of their gender, it may be possible that the distribution of workforce in specific areas can be more equal, which fosters a more diverse job market and fuels innovation. Ultimately, I believe that each learner should get an equal access to all academic fields instead of limiting them to fixed choices, allowing them to harness their talent as well as tackling the gender disparity in the workforce.

In conclusion, the trend towards choosing subjects based on gender can be attributed to enduring societal bias, and it should be discouraged to help people develop their strength and increase gender diversity in different areas. It is therefore essential that citizens should be more open-minded about subject choices rather than follow traditional obsolete beliefs.