Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

While many individuals claim that theatres and cinemas have become less significant in the digital era since they are able to watch all the entertainment online, others contend that theatres and cinemas still play essential economic and cultural roles. Online, people can easily watch anything they enjoy without having to spend time travelling, although visiting these entertainment venues increases consumer spending and people can gain a better understanding of social norms. I support the view that the role of theatres and cinemas outweighs the fact that watching entertainment online is much more convenient.

Watching entertainment online is far more advantageous than visiting theatres and cinemas. This is because people can access almost any television programme or movie within a minute with the comfort of their homes, saving time that would be otherwise spent on the road or waiting in queues at these entertainment places. For example, when visiting theatres and cinemas to watch a popular film or performance, the audience may get stuck in a long queue or spend an extended period of time travelling there. If people stay at their homes, they can choose anything to watch in under a minute which helps to win in time and feel comfortable without being distracted by others. I disagree with staying at home to watch something because not everything is free online and you still have to pay for the subscription. In addition, online entertainment does not ensure high quality videos. For this reason, the process can interrupt you with annoying advertisements since some movies require payment and make you less enjoyable.

Theatres and cinemas still have an important influence on the economy and the society. This is because visiting them increases consumer spending, which contributes to economic growth. Moreover, people can gain a better understanding of social beliefs and traditions through the performances and films presented there. For instance, the more visitors pay for the tickets, the more consumer spending there is. This demonstrates that the gross domestic product of the region gradually rises, which positively impacts the economy. Furthermore, after attending the films, the audience can understand the importance of fostering empathy, preserving societal values, or even having shared emotions with others which results in stronger bonding. On top of that, face-to-face interaction between the actor and the audience in the theatres creates a strong energy that may affect the way the person accepts the meaning behind the performance. I agree with the cruciality of theatres and cinemas because the shared atmosphere of the auditorium with the crowd creates an unique experience that cannot be replaced at home. Laughing, applause, and reacting the same way to the scenes makes the play and film memorable and engaging.

In conclusion, although online entertainment saves time and offers convenience, theatres and cinemas remain economically and culturally important, because their contribution to the economic development and cultural understanding cannot be replaced by digital platforms.