In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

According to the traditional view,men are the breadwinners while women are caregivers and responsible for their families.This belief,along with some old fashioned views like boys are good at mathematics and girls are not.This is the main reason why parents encourage their girls to choose art related subjects and math related disciplines to boys.I strongly believe that this trend should change.

To begin with,it is strongly believed that boys are good in science related subjects.In old countries with traditional values,females do not have a chance of getting educated.Females tend to marry and give a birth,while men tend to study and accomplish their education in their field.Strangely,studying science requires more money to study,this is te reason why most of parents are choosing their sons to study science.

Men and women have similar capacities and hidden potentials.If both gender were given the equal opportunity,women would excel in science related field. Many famous women scientists,such as Marie Curie,Dorothy Hodkingh have proved that female are no less capable than men when it comes to science.The trend of gender discrimination should stop.The good news is that many females are already engineering, doing their own projects and occupying their seats in many prestigious universities.Soon,both genders will have equal rights.

To conclude, women empowerment is quite an essential factor for the overall development of a nation, and that is why females should get a fair chance to participate in any subjects, including science majors, in schools and universities. This trend would bring more positive outcomes than restricting their fields of education and work.