“IN THE END… We only regret the chances we didn’t take, the relationships we were afraid to have , and the decisions we waited too long to make.”

It is a fact that the human brain is developed to make choices benefiting us . Our decisions are influenced by the circumstances around us , sometimes creating an unsteady balance with our inner selves . In my opinion , two aspects that are the main causes of our regrets are the fear of failure and judgment .

First and foremost , a well known fact is the idea that a regret after a decision is influenced by external factors . Instead of acknowledging we took the wrong decision , we tend to believe a person or a thing affected it . In this way , we repeat the same mistake by copying other people that seem successful . The remarkable Irish writer , Oscar Wilde , stated : “ Be yourself . Everyone else is already taken “ highlighting the importance of being ourselves , our own persona , in order to attain something . Hence , in this context , building an unwavering mindset after our principles is the best answer .

Furthermore , our decisions are also alimented by the fear of failure . Indeed , when making a decision , we have to weight our alternatives very well , but sometimes , either under pressure or just scared , we go for the easier option . Take for instance Daniel Pink , an American bestseller author , who asserted in his book “The Power of Regret “ that “If we know what we truly regret we know what we truly value “ emphasizing the idea that only through regret we realize the value of something . Therefore , in a way or another , the regrets are driven by the fear of ‘’What will happen if I do this” .

In a nutshell , we regret over and over again , but these regrets make us grow and change our perspectives into more mature and considerate ones , while learning to appreciate life in a different light . After all , life is too short to be unhappy , isn’t it ?