In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an ongoing discussions that road transport such as cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless in the future. Only passengers will be inside of these kind of vehicles. In my opinion, there are more of the disadvantages than the advantages for driverless vehicles.

First of all, driverless automobile require good supporting infrastructure. Traffic light and other traffic sign needs to be upgraded to support driverless vehicle. If not, the safety of the passengers and other people in the road like pedestrian will be compromised. This upgrade usually become the responsibilities of the government and there is a risk that if the government allocate the budget, then other important budget such as for education and health will be decrease.

Also, driverless cars require latest technology to be implemented, most notably artificial intelligence. In turn, the cost of driverless cars will be higher than regular cars and this is one of the disadvantage. People are going to spend extra cash for daily commute.

In addition, driverless cars are going to cut-off occupation like taxi drivers. This could lead to an increase in the number of unemployment, which is bad not only for the economics but also society. Unemployment rate usuallya corelate with the number of crimes.

On the other hand, driverless cars have some advantages. Driverless buses is monitored thoroughly so it will arrive on time to pick passengers. And for tourist, driverless cars could help them to navigate the country they visited better and avoid fraud from shady taxy drivers.

In conclusion, the disadvantage of driverless road transport outweight the advantages because it will heavily impact government budget and change in society.