In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the coming years, driving automobiles, public transports and lorries will be fully automated. The people inside these vehicles will not be drivers but only travelers. I believe the advantages of automating vehicles driving definitely outweigh the disadvantages because. Although some people who drive for a living will lose their jobs. I am of the opinion that driverless vehicles will save people time to do other activities while commuting and increase roads safety.

One of the main advantages driverless cars can do is saving drivers time to do other tasks instead of driving. This is to say that the average person spends at least one to two hour driving to and from work. So automating cars would allow them to invest this time in doing something useful activity such as reading, socializing online or even just relaxing. Another advantage would be less accidents on the roads, this is because automated vehicles have advanced sensors and are connected to GPS and know in advance if there is another car on the road. This would surely minimize if not eliminate collisions. For example, a recent study showed that the majority of car accidents are caused by human errors. Therefore, this issue could be tackled by automating transportation systems.

However, this technological advancement would lead to the unemployment of cars, buses, and trucks drivers. This is to say that in many developing and developed countries, there is a huge number of people who depend on their driving skills to make their income. Thereby, automating vehicles would put a lot of these people out of work. For instance, a recent article, which has been published in the New York journal, indicates that in the future more than 80 percent of motors on the road would be driverless, which would result in many jobless drivers. But I believe that this problem is serious than fatal car accidents.

In conclusion, although automating car driving will cost a lot of people their jobs, the advantages of saving extra time for people and making traveling safer would outweigh any drawback.