In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, vehicles could be self-driven by improved technology. However, there are some arguements about the benefits and the draw-backs of this modern system with several reasons.

First of all, well-develped autonomous cars are significantly efficient. As no more human driving service will be needed, it would save the workforce, so it results in reduction of expenditure of public transport as no more wages should be paid to drivers. Moreover, its superiority is not only its cost-efficiency but also its time-efficiency. In this case, the more diriverless trasnsports are on the road, the less traffic jams or troubles will be caused because the auto-driving system inside the vehicles are taught to keep all the road regulations and the laws. Not to mention, most of road accidents, or delaying journey are frequently caused by human mistakes, and therefore, the computer-based driving technology could resolve it.

On the other hand, it is not always the optimised situation because of some controversial aspects. For example, when an accident is happened while driving automatically, the affair becomes too complicated and it is troublesome to ask someone to take a responsibility to compensate for it as only the machine triggered it. Furthermore, a contradiction to the above-mentioned perception, less workforce requirement implies that the drivers in the future would be discharged, so the unemployment rate would rise as a consequence. In addition, entirely trusting robotic-generated systems from human is hardly expectable for now and the near future since artificial intelligence is introduced to our society just recently, and the majority of the populations are still feeling awkwardness or skepticism about it. For this reason, there could be incredible amount of rejections from several groups of people or enterprises if driverless transports are operated on the road one day.

Although self-driving cars are obviously more efficient than a car driven by a person, they possess quite many potential troubles with weak resolutions that humans have. In my opinion, the negative sides or driverless vehicles still outweigh the positive sides of it, particularly because of its controversy between human and machine’s abilities.