In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some people, in the future autonomous-vehicles will become widespread and people will not need any driver in the public transport, cars, and logistical vehicles. Although some security issues will occur, autonomous vehicles will have many benefits to society.

In recent decades, autonomous vehicles can be seen everywhere. These vehicles have increased people’s welfare. In the future, if all cars become driverless it will not only help to reduce the car accidents but also improve the public transport periods and delivery speeds. Firstly, autonomous vehicles have prevented numerous crashes since their invention because these vehicles have a lot of sensors to recognise other drivers, animals, and pedestrians. Secondly, almost everyday car crashes are caused by drivers under the influence of alcohol. With driverless, autonomous vehicles these incidents could be prevented because driverless vehicles adhere to rules and plans. Moreover, municipalities will not need to hire drivers for public transport. Therefore, additional bus schedules can be added, allowing people to reach their destination even at night, a service not available in many cities. Furthermore, any shipping speed can be increased because lorry drivers have to take breaks to sleep while they are driving. For this reason, driverless lorries deliver their packages faster than driver lorries because they can drive non-stop.

In contrast, there are some disadvantages of driverless vehicles. Most autonomous vehicles rely on electricity and internet connectivity. Some criminals could try to ruin the system via the internet and they can lead to a lot of car crashes. However, autonomous vehicles companies already have systems to prevent security issues. On the other hand, these driverless vehicles generally use electricity to run. This could be a problem, especially in cold weather, as the battery durability of cars tends to decrease. This results in disruptions to people’s daily lives.

In conclusion, driverless vehicles will be advantageous for people to travel in safer traffic as well as decrease the waiting time. Yet some problems could be seen in the future. These problems can be prevented by authorised people and governments.