In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the years to come, a lot of advancements have been made into driverless technology, which allows passengers to commute to different destinations without needing anyone to operating the vehicle. A science fiction concept which is coming to reality, I certainly believe that this promising technology is paramount and can only be beneficial in a plethora of ways.

On the one hand, advance computers in autonomous cars are capable of making fast calculations of different road scenarios compared to human beings. Vehicles of the future are capable of analysing dangerous situations that could harm passengers onboard. To protect them, it is capable of performing quick safety manoeuvres to prevent collisions from occurring .This has resulted in lower road accidents, which is primarily caused by human errors. For instance, a study in Norway has showed a drastic reduction of road collision caused by people, ever since the country started introducing self-driving cars into it´s market.

On the other hand, with the implementation of advance driverless technology, passenger drivers who depend on transportation industry as a form of work will be at risk of loosing their jobs. This will have a profound impact on their livelihoods as they could suffer from huge financial losses. China serves as a important example, with the introduction of self-driving taxis, many drivers have to file for bankruptcy.

In conclusion, I am deeply convinced that the benefits of advance autonomous vehicles simply outweighs the adverse impact that it has on transport industries. This is primarily due to advance road safety features that will protect and safeguard the safety of passengers, which should be of utmost importance in our society.