In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the following years, people would not like to spend their money to printed newspapers while they have a chance to access them online for free, with zero effort. In this essay I will be comparing the printed ones and digitally accessible ones to realize if this idea is logical or not.

On one hand, I simply agree this situation because the upcoming generation is lazier than today’s adults. The generation Z would not prefer to get out of their home and spend their time and energy to waste their money to some kind of unnecessary magazines if they would be able to read it on their own technological device. Being forced to buy a newspaper is a huge childhood trauma for most of the children, clearly supporting the idea of online news and books will be the replacement of the presents.

On the other hand, some situations make sense to not fully agree with this common opinion. Initially, I believe that reading stamped resources are a part of culture which means they are not that easy to be destroyed by technology. Moreover, in the case of journals, novels, storybooks etc. becoming digital and free, governments would presumably become aware of this situation which totally disadvantages to them financially, resulting in even a minimum amount of pricing to the online platform. This may lead people to return to their old culture, which is buying from hand.

Ultimately, purchasing printed reading resources and reaching them in digital world both has their own benefits and drawbacks which makes me believe that none of them would disappear in the future.