In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is undoubted that, in the future, regular newspapers and books will be uncommon among readers who want to purchase them, and everyone will have the ability to access information without charge. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view, and the following paragraphs will shed some light on that.

To begin with, this trend would provide news reporters, writers, and journalists the freedom to publish their contents. To illustrate, many publishing firms pose restrictions regarding what content is being printed out on their pages. However, when people tend to not buy paper-based newspapers and consume digital media, newspapers authorities would lose their influence over writers. Therefore, direct communication between content creators and their audiences would be more effective and without boundaries. A book writer, for example, may prefer to publish their new novel on X platform rather than publish it via a conventional publishing firm.

Moreover, consuming out-of-charge digital media would motivate individuals to read more. This is because, in today’s digital era, people are in front of their screens almost all the time, and it is challenging for many of them to spend time with a physical object, such as a paper book. For this reason, individuals, especially generation Z, are highly expected to read electronics books and magazines while they are browsing their smartphones. For instance, for a 15-year old schoolstudent it would be more enjoyable to read a scientific article on their smartphone, comparing to a paper one.

In conclusion, limiting publishing firms power over writers and encouraging individuals to read more are the main reasons why I strongly agree with the notion of people will have the tendency of reading online for free and not buying traditional books.