In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Due to technologies, traditional books and newspapers are becoming less and less preferable among people, as there are better alternatives for them – e-books and online articles. According to that, it is possible that printed newspapers and books will be forgotten, being replaced by cheaper online ones. I believe that regardless the precious qualities of tactile sources of reading, books and news on the Internet will take a lead in the future.

Obviously, printed books and newspapers have some points which cannot be replaced. In general, it is related to the vibe they have and the feelings they give to the reader. Taking books as an example. Most people prefer to read printed ones because of some aspects, such as touching and smell. To be more precise, scrolling pages and sensing the paper between your fingers give the feeling of enjoyment and satisfaction, coupled with the smell of printed paper, which is favorable among many people. As for newspapers, they are mostly preferred by adults and older generation, as they have been using it for many years and got used to it. Also, it is more convenient to have all of the information, such as news, upcoming events and TV programs, gathered in one piece of paper, rather than searching and reading it separately on the Internet.

Despite these qualities of printed books and newspapers, online ones might become the main and only source of reading not only for being cheaper, but also for some another reasons. Certainly, e-books cost less than traditional ones, while the payment for news is not even needed. Mainly, that is why people started to choose this way of reading. Moreover, in order to make printed sources, many trees are knocked down all over the world, which hugely damage our environment. Online format of books and newspapers, however, do not have such a drawback. More and more people tend to protect nature these days, that is why they choose to read eco-friendly sources. In addition, online reading is more convenient, comparing with paper ones. As the only thing people need for reading e-books and articles is a gadget, they can easily carry it anywhere they go.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that online format of reading is more beneficial for people and environment, in my opinion, traditional reading sources will always be chosen by some individuals.