In the past, people lived in the same place in their lives. However, it is common that now people change their place and often live in different places during their lives. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the past, people used to live permanently in one area for a whole life, which is in contrast to the tendency of immigrating to other regions in different parts of life nowadays. In my perspective, this phenomenon occurs mainly due to a higher living standard in some places, while it might result in negative facets, which will be examined in the following essay.

Regarding the reason for this issue, people might relocate to various regions to achieve a better life. In other words, many modern urban areas are the places of international companies and a complex job market that offer more job opportunities for individuals, as well as raising their income. In addition, developed areas are likely to provide higher quality of academic education, which possibly benefits youngsters with a brighter and prosperous future. Hence, people move to modern regions as they believe it brings various advantages and improves the quality of life.

According to the drawback of this trend, it probably leads to the imbalanced improvement in different areas. To explain, when a massive number of people in a region moves to other places, a significant number of workforce might be lost. Consequently, that area is unable to develop with less population, and attract investment from international organizations. Furthermore, if most citizens gather in one place, it might result in a more competitive job market, higher products’ price, and pollution for overpopulation. For instance, Ho Chi Minh city has been a modern place with lots of immigrants from diverse regions Vietnam, which contributes to a faster developments, whilst also leads to job losses due to a large workforce, and pollution from daily activities, compared to other provinces. Therefore, it is not always advantageous for individuals to move to different places.

To conclude, residents are keen on relocating as they desire a better life for themselves and their families. In contrast, we should also consider some negative aspects such as overpopulation, unemployment and environmental harms, in order to prevent potential consequences of this tendency.