In the past, people lived in the same place in their lives. However, it is common that now people change their place and often live in different places during their lives. Is it a positive or negative development?

With globalization bridging cultural divides and disposable incomes going through the roof, it has become increasingly common for people to move around and live in different places as opposed staying in a single place for a lifetime, like it used to be in the past. While this can be primarily attributed to socioeconomic restructuring and the ubiquity of digital nomadism, I believe that it is a positive development, as moving around works wonders for personal growth.

Admittedly, there has been a dramatic shift in socioeconomic structuring and globalized job markets. Transitioning from localized agrarian or manufacturing economies to hyper-specialized, knowledge-based economy has created an environment where many professionals are compelled to migrate across cities or national borders to secure career progression and upward mobility in the career ladder. Given these circumstances, it comes as no surprise that people live in multiple locations during their entire lifespans, a behavior which was completely different from the previous centuries when individuals could do better in career only if they stay in one place. The proliferation of remote jobs and digital nomadism, additionally, has uncoupled individuals from physical offices. This, in turn, has granted individuals unprecedented locational flexibility to relocate based on lifestyle or cost-of-living advantages, thereby liberating them from staying in a one place and being forced to conform to unwanted societal, region-specific conditions.

Given these reasons, I believe that it is a positive developments, since it fosters personal development. This is primarily because every time people leave their familiar surroundings and relocate to new territories, they are supposed to step out of their comfort zones and face different challenges. Whether it be overcoming language barriers and cultural differences without running into conflicts and misunderstandings, embracing cultural differences without holding stereotypes and behaving in a disrespectful manner, or managing their financial affairs according to the new area’s rules without splurging on luxury, splashy items. By handling these common difficulties, they can become adaptable to changes, resilient in the face of adversity or discomfort, resourceful in case of emergencies, wise in making decisions, and adept at resolving conflicts constructively. In response to the developed skills in the process, people learn to push themselves beyond their limits, turn over a new leaf, and get their act together, thereby accelerating their personal growth.

To conclude, although structural changes in the labor markets and omnipresence of distance working opportunities may be the main catalysts for people moving around instead of staying in a one place, I remain convinced that it is a positive development, since it accelerated personal development.