In the past, people lived in the same place in their lives. However, it is common that now people change their place and often live in different places during their lives. Is it a positive or negative development?

In past years, it was popular for people to live in a particular house their entire life. In contrast, in the modern world they prefer to live in various spaces. Firstly, this essay will discuss possible reasons of this phenomenon, before examining whether it is a positive or negative tendency.

One of the reasons for the sudden shift in choices for people to live in different houses might be due to economic conditions. On the one hand, in order to live comfortably in a particular house, individuals should be having economic stability which is more accessible in modern times. To elaborate, nowadays there are many opportunities for individuals to gain more financial stability because of new professions and job opportunities with higher income levels. On the other hand, maintaining life in one location could cost more. As the rent for that area might increase over time, it would not be cost-effective to spend a lifetime in one location. Both these factors could be potential causes for shifts in behaviour regarding living in one or various places throughout the life.

There are many beneficial aspects to the change in people’s behaviour regarding the locations they are based in. A major upside is that living in various places provides opportunities to communicate with more people. To illustrate, while living in different areas, individuals can get familiar with people coming from different backgrounds. Moreover, this could present more flexibility to travel. Since a person is not attached to a particular house, they could easily visit more places. Therefore, thanks to chances to build new connections and more flexibility, this trend is considered positive.

In conclusion, the reasons for the change in people’s preferences regarding the locations to spend their life in are mainly due to economic factors. Additionally, I strongly believe that the sudden shift in choices for people to live in different locations is considered a beneficial tendency because of opportunities to discover new cultures and flexibility to explore various countries.