In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

Nowadays, shopping is becoming increasingly popular as a hobby. It has not always been like this, in fact, it used to be considered a mundane task. I believe this to be a mostly positive evolution and in this essay, I will present my reasons why.

Shopping is a great way of expressing creativity. Each year, an increasingly amount of people has an office job that usually requires employees to wear formal apparel, thus greatly limiting outfit options. As a result, people go shopping in their free time to try new things on. Moreover, the choice of clothing can have a great impact on confidence. Personally, I tend to feel better when I am dressed differently from others. Because of this, I greatly enjoy shopping.

On the other hand, not everyone might agree with this view. It is to be considered that clothing is more expensive than ever. For instance, in the past five years apparel prices have almost doubled. Therefore, some dislike shopping and rather use the money for other experiences with friends. However, shopping itself can be a fun activity to do with peers, thus it all comes down to personal preference. Moreover, environmentalists argue that shopping regularly can produce massive amounts of textile waste. Although this can be true, going shopping doesn’t necessarily entail purchasing new clothing: people don’t usually buy much, but have fun even just by trying on new pieces.

In conclusion, shopping is a hobby that many people, myself included, use to express themselves creatively and increase their confidence. Although not everybody agrees, it is an activity that doesn’t have many drawbacks.