In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

It has been stated that going shopping used to be a household chore, but it has recently transformed into a leisure activity or a pleasant outgoing. In this essay, this statement will be seen as a positive trend, but it also has potential drawbacks.

On the positive side, approach shopping as a hobby can contribute to economic growth by boosting consumer spending. Many years ago, people had limited access to different items from various locations or sources. This resulted in spending less money on shopping and that didn’t stimulate the economy to go up. For instance, for many years USSR was isolated from all over the world therefore there wasn’t access to various number items such as clothes, food, or even drugs. This led to the economy facing significant challenges and stagnation rather than growth. In modern and developed countries citizens can go shopping and by doing so they pay taxes and invest in the country’s economy.

However, there are also downsides to this trend. Excessive or compulsive shopping behavior can bring financial strain, debt, and even failure in the economic sector. For example, the last survey in Kazakhstan showed that people have an enormous number of loans or credit for things that they don’t primely use any more than in other countries. Thereby, when individuals don’t have the opportunity to repay loans, it creates a burden on the country’s economy.

In conclusion, undoubtedly this trend has some advantages as well as disadvantages. Personally speaking, I believe the more people buy different products either for their daily needs or as their hobbies, the better economy they will have, despite having some negative effects.