In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

It has been stated that going shopping used to be a household chore, but it has recently transformed into a leisure activity. In this essay, this statement will be seen as a positive trend, but it also has potential drawbacks.

On the positive side, approaching buying as a hobby can contribute to economic growth by boosting consumer spending. Many years ago, people had limited access to different items from various locations or sources. This resulted in spending less money on shopping, and that didn’t stimulate the economy to grow. For instance, for many years, the USSR was isolated from the rest of the world, therefore, there wasn’t access to a wide variety of items such as clothes, food, or even drugs. This led to the financial sector facing significant challenges and stagnation rather than growth. In modern and developed countries, citizens can go shopping, and by doing so, they pay taxes and invest in the country’s economy.

However, there are also downsides to this trend. Excessive or compulsive shopping behavior can bring financial strain, debt, and even harm to the economic sector. For example, a recent survey in Kazakhstan showed that people have an enormous number of loans or credit for things that they don’t primarily use anymore than in other countries. Thereby, when individuals don’t have the opportunity to repay loans, it creates a burden on the country’s economy.

In conclusion, undoubtedly this trend has some advantages as well as disadvantages. Personally speaking, I believe the more people buy different products either for their daily needs or as their hobbies, the better the economy will be, despite having some negative effects.