In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Lots of chance are serve many students to study in the different countries now compared to the past. Nevertheless, it will developed the positive side as well as the opposite of it. In one hand it will opened the chances of students to learn the major directely from countries that have many expertise in some specific major, but in the other hand it can contribute to the number of student that do not coming back to their home country after taking the study abroad.

Study in different countries will brought many advantages for international student, the main reason is it will help the student to get the best chances to study in the places that have many expertise. Not all of the major in local universities provided some specific major, by taking the it in the different countries or even the countries that served an expertise of that program it can be a better chance for students to learn directly from the professional and skilled teacher. To illustrate, currently Indonesia does not have many expertise in the technology law, in contrast Netherland does have many of them. Hence, the opportunity to study in Netherland can contribute to the increasing of law expertise in the field of technology because students can learn from the competence countries and universities.

In contrast, it possibly can broaden the chances of students to forget contribution to their home country. Many students might choose not to come back to their home because they already familiarize themselves with the international environment and would probably choose to work there because of the salary that may bigger compared to their country. For example, Indonesia has an instution that give many students sponsorship to study abroad called LPDP but not many of them comeback. So as a solution, they give a regid requirement that enforce the students to come back and give contributions to a minimum time of 3 years after graduation.

To summarize, the positive side of study abroad can give students the opportunity to study directely from expertise, but in the other hand it can also higher the chances students might not coming back to their country because they already feeling comfortable to the environment.