In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In previous times, many students did their studies in their home country. Currently, there are many chances for them to study at international universities.

Choosing the right university is a real challenge, especially if the program of choice is not available in student’s country, in this case, applicants can search for other study programs in order to continue their education abroad. Certainly, there are benefits, students will have the opportunity to improve their language skills through choosing a program that fully taught in foreign language, they will accompany high skilled professors. Additionally, they will expand their knowledge by engaging with diverse groups of international students. Moreover, many people support the opinion that students who had studied abroad will have more chances to establish a successful career. But what about the negatives?

Living abroad and outside our comfort zone is not easy, some students are influenced by common bad habits, like drinking alcohol, going to night clubs, they may also follow impolite people with strange attitudes and then become a whole different person. Also, some students suffer from the hatred by foreign students because of their color, nationality and culture.

In conclusion, leaving our own country to study abroad is absolutely a golden opportunity to enhance our learning experience, but we have to be aware of the drawbacks of this life changing.