In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Nowadays, a growing number of students opt to study overseas instead of continuing their education at universities in their countries. Although there are some drawbacks of this trend, study abroad can bring many benefits to students.

To begin with, studying overseas has many drawbacks. Firstly, there is pressure from poor parents or families. Foreign education is expensive, and the cost can take the whole savings of the families. For example, the fees for the University of Helsinki Master’s Programmes in English are 13,000, 15,000 and 18,000 EUR per academic year, depending on the programme. As a result, this can lead some students and their families to bad quality lives or even depression. Also some students can be financially burdened after graduation with poor academic results. Second, some students might not deal with culture shock and language barriers. The reason is that some students are not ready or good enough at a foreign language, so they cannot understand situations in their daily lives as well as their studies.

However, there are many benefits to studying overseas. One of the main advantages of this development is having many chances to learn in an open world with many new things and skills. By going to other countries, students are exposed to a variety of cultures. This can help them to become well-rounded people, since they can make better decisions in their lives. Another advantage is that it can help them have better job opportunities in their future careers. Because of learning in developed countries, they can gain more knowledge, experience or even be good at a second language such as English and Chinese. Therefore they can get good jobs with higher salaries.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of studying away from home countries, I believe that learning overseas can offer international students significant benefits.