In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Most of the students pursuing a university degree planned to continue their studies in their respective nations. But, there has been a definite increase in the number of students choosing to study in a foreign country, as compared to their own. This is a very rewarding approach that a lot of students prefer, with benefits like exposure to multiple cultures and a stress free environment to name a few. However, it is closely followed by disadvantages, including but not limited to having to stay away from their family and their economical issues.

Travelling abroad to follow a career path allows students to get access to people from all different zones of the world. This makes creating new friendships much more exciting and can train you to communicate respectfully with people from varied traditions and cultures. Moreover, some students in my country, including me, crave to escape the unnatural amount of competition that has been imbued in our peer’s mentalities. Everything is a fight, and some people are outright tired of it. They wish for a much simpler and relatively slow take on learning, where there is no pressure on them to compete to do good.

But it’s not always that easy. The families of most of the students do not have sufficient funds for all its members to move to another nation. A lot of the students rely solely on scholarships to afford their fees. These are all direct consequences of the large amount of cost associated to studying abroad. This forces people to live separately, away from family, and this indefinitely leads to some degree of homesickness which can affect students’ mental well-being and them achieving their potential.

In conclusion, an increasing number of learners are planning to study abroad to get out of a monotonous cycle of intellectual conflict with others to succeed in life, while enriching their cultural knowledge about the different zones of world. This drastic step however is taken at the risk of feeling estranged in a different country and a longing for homecoming.