You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Traditional culture is being lost due to globalization. Is this a positive or negative development? Write at least 250 words.

Globalization has not only globalized economy, but also globalized culture. Some traditional culture are in the verge of extinction as a result. Culture refers to the tangible and intangible product of a group of organized people, whether it is a tribe, a company, or even a nation, that are born from a long period of repeated habit to the extent that it has become normal. Traditional culture refer specifically to cultures that are rooted on inherited traditions, usually tribal, identified by language, clothing, attitude, law, weapon, social structure, homes, etc.

Culture cannot be separated with domination. A nation that has a significant domination will influence other culture, intentionally or unintentionally. For those dominant country, this is a positive thing. This makes their task easier because cultural gap could be minimized, an thus transactional activity could be carried on smoothly. Their language, attitude, law, and standard will be adopted by others, and thus giving them special leverage. The dominated country, although indeed becoming inferior, also helped due to the existence of a clear code of conduct. They could simply choose one language of the so called “dominant nation” to communicate with other nations without the need to master hundreds of other language. This will ease trading agreements and international initiatives. With a noticable unity in how we speak, dress, behave, and respect each other, harmony and peace could be easier to achieved.

Some influnce of the dominant country turns out to be a bad and, in many case, even unhealthy. Let us take a look at how the culture of chastity and family bond were affected by free sexual intercourse and individualism. What seems to be freedom turned out to be spreading diseases and illnesses such as HIV AIDS and mental instability. The positive conduct of traditional culture such as respecting others, respecting elderly people, taking care of parents, and community contribution, has also starting to be degraded. The absence of such culture has historically proven to be a prime factor of social instability. The extinction of cultural diversity also poses another serious threat: lack of ideas. Different culture could contribute in the diversity of creativity. The lost of such thing will slow down future inventions and develpment. Society will be dull, and thus strategically not good.

In conclusion, although cultural globalization seems practically beneficial, it is strategically concerning. A good balance between standardized global practice and the preservation of traditional culture thus more preferable and logically sound.