In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In the past, students who graduated tended to study in their own country, while in moder life, they have several opportunities to study in a foreign country. In my view, both perspectives have compelling advantages and drawbacks, however, I firmly believe that having the possibility to study abroad is an amazing achievement, as students could experience new challenges and enrich their soft skills.

On the one hand, who decide to study abroad have the potential to live in a foreign country, experiencing different environments, cultures, and new friendships as well. Moreover, there are many institutional programs aimed at encouraging these experiences, as they lead to a greater development of people’s confidence and awareness. For example, in the last decade, European universities made efforts to create a common program, namely, Erasmus, in which students may be able to study abroad in a foreign language. Indeed, I sharply believe that these opportunities bring many benefits for society, as students have the possibility to better develop their communication skills, approaching to different cultures, and career progression too.

However, these situations have brought some disadvantages for many countries, especially because their universities are recording a decreasing number of students. Consequently, these countries might experience negative outcomes, as the shortage of human resources could lead to disastrous effects on their economies. For instance, Italy is strongly concerned about this phenomenon as a result of its ineffective policies, and more and more students decide to move abroad.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that studying abroad bring much more advantages to students than disadvantages, as students can enrich their curriculum and experiences. Governments should upgrade their policies in favor of their students, giving them benefits and grants.