In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

People in the present have more opportunities to study in other nations, unlike individuals before who mostly apply to their own country’s university. Indeed, most universities worldwide have an increasing number of foreign students enrolled in their programs. This essay will clarify the benefits and drawbacks of this development

To begin with the disadvantages, firstly, learners who apply to other countries’ institutions rather than their own often face monetary issues in their lives because of the cost of living. The majority of people choose to acquire knowledge from universities that are in well-developed countries such as the UK or the USA. For this reason, the price of merchandise or services may be higher than in their homelands which may have lower life expenses. Research also suggests that young people find it hard to adapt to a new environment due to the immaturity of the individuals. For instance, students cannot adjust to new social norms or cultures, and taking care of themselves without their parents seems difficult for them.

On the other hand, studying abroad has numerous benefits. Firstly, it will increase the opportunity of getting high-paid occupations. Graduating from distinct countries universities gain more attention from many companies. To illustrate, in Thailand, a person who graduated out of the country tends to get more options in job finding. On top of this, students who study overseas are more likely to have fellows from alternative nationalities and acquire better life experiences as they have to live on their own and communicate with people who are not from the same nations. Furthermore, living far from family and friends can enable young people to be more independent and self-sufficient.

Taking all into consideration, there are both pros and cons to studying overseas. It might be costly and difficult to adjust to other nations but it also helps with job opportunities, having more international friends and better life experiences, and being more independent and self-sufficient.