In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In former times, students pursuing university degrees mostly studied in their own country. However, nowadays, they have been offered more chances to study abroad.

With this development, students who chose to go abroad can get to experience a new educational system. Not only that, living in a foreign country can also increase personal growth and maturity, like independence. For example, day to day challenges of completing various tasks, grocery shopping, managing finances and many others. Studying abroad reveals you to diverse communities of students, expanding your network for future collaborations in your career. Moreover, living in a different country allows you to explore a completely different culture, traditions, the way of life and a different perspective of the world. Additionally, staying in a distinct environment can increase your self-awareness by challenging your assumptions. The best part of it all is the travel opportunity, where you can visit iconic landmarks, historical sites, and hidden gems of the country.

On the other hand, living abroad also has shortcomings, like culture shock, adjusting to a new culture, language, and way of life can be challenging, leading to frustration. Not only that, being away from familiar surroundings, friends, family members can lead to feelings of loneliness and being away from home for a long period of time can trigger your feelings and homesickness. Also, studying abroad can be expensive, with costs including tuition, housing, travel, living expenses and visa fees.

The advantages of this development do outweigh the disadvantages. Studying abroad offers valuable experiences like independence, networking and travel opportunities. However, it can be expensive and challenging to adapt.