In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

While students previously went to a university for study in their native countries, these days they are more likely to study abroad. The change has both advantages and disadvantages. The following essay will provide the extent of both sides.

Initially, one of the main advantages is that students can learn other languages and cultures directly on a daily basis besides their majors. For example, my older sister who is Japanese, and used to major economics went to one of the universities in Canada. After she finished the university degree, she told me that she could improve her English skills much better than before and she could also understand deeply about the cultural differences between Japan and Canada. (too personal or barely relative example) Another is that some universities have better academic systems. For instance, almost all of universities in Japan only allow students to choose one major. However, some universities in New Zealand enable them to take two majors, which could enlarge their future options.

While there are some positive impacts on studying abroad, negative aspects also can be seen. One of the disadvantages is the difficulty of catching up classes because students from other countries might face language difficulties. For example, if Korean students whose first language is Korea take a marketing class in an US university, they might not understand what a teacher said, or what a textbook describe in case they don’t have enough English ability. Moreover, the cost of study abroad should be by far more expensive than a university in own country in some cases. In my case, an annual cost of a university in New Zealand is nearly twice as high as that of my university in Japan. Additionally, I have to pay an accommodation fee, which means much more expansive.

To sum up, the current situation that university students are more possible to go to a university in other countries gives both benefits and drawbacks. As for benefits, they can learn new languages and cultures and take better university system. On the other hand, students in studying abroad might confront language difficulties and cost much more money.