In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

During the earlier times, students got a degree from a university in their own country. If the university is fr from their hometown, they would either travel daily or stay in an hostel near the university. Previously they didn’t have much exposure or the idea to study in a different country in better universities. These ideas developed just recently just when the idea of exchange program was introduced in the education culture. Students taught about the value of exchange program higher and it gives much more exposure, than earning a degree abroad will give more value to the life of the student.

Several advantages contribute to the students graduating for a degree they studied abroad. These students get to gain a lot of skills when studied away from their home country. They become more independent in life because everything they need for a living is managed only by the students right from cooking, washing, cleaning, etc. One major advantage is money management. They learn how to use every single currency they get from their parents. They get to meet new people from different country and start to socialise among themself and exchange cultures. Apart from these, when they move to a developed country for education at a better university they get used to the advanced instruments for studying and get a higher practical knowledge .

The other side of the coin has a lot of limitations to the same, some of them includes the higher cost of living, stay away from family, disturbance in mental stress, etc. Not all can afford the cost without any loan or scholarship. Students are supposed to stay away from their family which takes them more time to adjust to the environment. Some places where culture is given more importance take time to accept a new person into their country and they avoid the student which causes an mental sickness to the student.

There was a friend of mine who moved to an foreign country for his higher education, he found it very hard to adjust to the environment where he faced a lot of troubles during the start and took time ti adjust and come back to normal. But after all setbacks he has achieved the reason he went abroad for his studies. So it all depends on the way how we see ourself in the new environment and not always think about the advantages or the disadvantages.