In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Previously, students tended to attend university in the country they are originally from. Currently, studying abroad has become popular and feasible. Moving abroad for education poses advantages like increased exposure and overall better education. Although, students will have to live away from their families and they are susceptible to debt. This assay will discuss both the merits and demerits of being an international student.

It is obvious that studying in foreign universities will drastically increase our exposure. It gives us an opportunity to gain immense practical knowledge using state of the art facilities. Furthermore, it gives us a chance to learn from world-renowned professors of our fields, earn their contacts and strengthen our network. Additionally, it also presents us with increased job opportunities. For instance, Germany is well known for its cutting-edge technology in the auto-mobile industry, so students who wish to specialize in this field can move there for their education as German institutions do not collect any tuition fee.

The most prominent drawback is living away from family and friends, international students tend to get homesick quite often. This might also lead to them feeling lonely and depressed. Additionally, they might face communication barriers which will stop them from socializing. For example, in most European countries, people tend to talk in their native language, which makes it difficult for foreign students to communicate and socialize.

In conclusion, moving to a different country for a degree has both benefits and drawbacks. The students feel alone and homesick, but they also get the chance of learning from the best teachers of their field and hence have a better chance of succeeding.