In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, more and more people choose to study at universities abroad. While it was difficult to do so back then, obtaining a chance of becoming an international student has become quite easier. Even though studying internationally has various benefits, this phenomenon also has many drawbacks.

Generally, obtaining a university degree from another country is a trend that is advantageous in a number of ways. First, it promotes the concept of globalization by bringing together people of different backgrounds. This serves as a platform of inter-communication between distinct individuals who learn from each other. Consequently, gaining insights into other people’s cultures and ways of thinking helps in developing one’s own. Second, it is a means of gaining new knowledge which aids in the advancement of local societies. For instance, a student who studied at an international institution will learn new skills and gather new information and experiences that they could employ to enhance their own communities.

Nevertheless, this development brings its own set of disadvantages. One setback might be the failure of national universities as the number of applicants shrinks consistently. As more students opt for the choice of studying in another country, application rates will diminish drastically. Eventually, this leads to the permanent closing of universities and educational institutions due to a lack of learners. Another drawback could be that many students who leave the country to study choose to remain at their destination. Societies and the country as a whole will suffer as a result. To demonstrate, progressing communities can be achieved by attaining more expertise and applying these to local societies for them to flourish. One way to introduce current and advanced technologies to any nation is through students, specifically college-level students. So, if these college students never make it back to their nation, the communities would miss out on an important method of evolving and progressing.

All in all, whether to study in your home country or another nation is a personal choice. Recently, there have been more opportunities for students to study internationally. However advantageous this might be, it imposes certain threats to the growth and progression of the nation.