In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In ancient days, pupils tended to study in their own nation either for graduation or postgraduation, whereas nowadays students choose to migrate to Western countries for a university degree. While this phenomenon is not without its negative sides, I believe that the overall impact of study-abroad plans is predominantly positive.

Among the benefits, the primary advantages for individuals are better quality of education and self-reliance. Firstly, these days many students opt for specified courses in foreign universities because of the highly experienced and qualified professors and convenient approach to teaching. It can be seen that most of the universities in Western countries offer comprehensive study along with practical knowledge. As a result, if students graduate from these universities, they can secure a job in companies with high salary or remuneration at initial stage of their career.

Besides monitory rewards, students can learn other necessary skills in their life such as becoming independent and communicating in other language, while they migrate in western countries without accompany of their family members. Moreover, students can get aware about the customs and traditions of the foreign countries. Meanwhile, they can also share our cultural and traditional identity with foreigners. As a result, the respect for each culture could be increased.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of emigration not only for individuals but also for country. Primarily, this phenomenon leads to lack of skilled-workforce in primary fields such as medical, engineering, space, and research. As a consequence, if nation would suffer from severe circumstances such as COVID-19 pandemic, it would be difficult to survive for citizens due to lack of staffs. Secondly, it would also create detrimental impact on individuals and their family members. While students move in other countries, they might suffer from home-sickness as this situation would not allow them to communicate face-to-face with their parents. This, in turn, can trigger a gap in family bonds and change individual’s emotional attachment with their parents. In longer run, parents might get arrested in the confinement of lonliness.

To conclude, moving abroad for studies presents a mixed bag of advantages and disadvantages. While notable benefits include cultural exchange, arming with good knowledge, improving communication skills and becoming independent, they do not pale into insignificance when compared to drawbacks, including a lack of professionals and increased gap between family members.