In today's world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, some private companies fund and manage most of the scientific projects and research instead of the government. Although this trend is essential for the further development of the inventions, I believe this cannot compare to its unethical ways of success in most cases.

The primary benefit of the private companies’ is that the newest innovations and technologies come to light under their leadership. Since private firms usually aim for a quick and qualitative product, all stages of research and product making move fast. This kind of fast tempted progress is considered to be profitable for companies too, as it means that products can be sold in the near future. The more they complete the task, the more they would see the fruits of their labors. For example, a certain medicine is predicted to be made within three years, but a private company decides to take this project under their wing. With the help of their funding, research is done in two years. As a result, the medicine field witnessed a breakthrough, which may have taken a longer period, if not with the help of the firm.

However, the significance of the funding from private companies lies only in the rapid achievement of the result, the way it is made so far has more far-reaching consequences on the ethics, because mostly firms order their workers to achieve a certain goal within a small period of time. This, on the other hand, forces the employees to ignore the safety rules, and cut the corners so they can save time and money. While the corporations are earning tons of money, their workers are dealing with all the dirty jobs. This, in turn, may take a toll on the future developments and innovations by that researchers as the government may ban their actions for a specific amount of time.

In conclusion, even though it is advantageous for a rapid forthcoming of the products that people can use in future, the negative outcomes of this trend eclipse its benefits as such an attitude towards a significant project places an enormous danger on the safety and the lives of people.