International travel is become cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increase tourism outweight its disadvantages?

Low-cost flights and open borders for international tourists policy have made global tourism more affordable and popular than ever. While International travel may entail environmental impacts, I am of the opinion that the host country can reap significant economic benefits of universal tourism.

International tourism offers a golden opportunity to improve the economy of the host country. Foreigners contribute to the economy of the destination country with the money they spend on a wide range of goods and services, including foods, souvenirs, travel and so on. In addition, international traveling can also help create new job opportunities. Local people can create their own business by utilizing their houses as accommodations such as hotels, homestays or having local cuisine restaurants, which can help local citizens make more money compared to their bread and butter, which is hard for them to meet basic needs. Hence, the employment rate is improved, jobless people can have a better source of income, which can provide for their family and improve the living standards. For example, the influx of Russian and Chinese tourists to Nha Trang plays an important role in improving the city in terms of economic growth, which has helped the city become the 4th highest GDP per capita in Vietnam and completely changed this sleepy coastal community to a crowded city.

Besides economic benefits, it is undeniable that the growth of global traveling has brought an undesirable impact on the destination country’s environment and infrastructure. The improper disposal of waste at public places or natural beauties because of the large volume of travelers could contaminate the surrounding environment and can lead to adverse health outcomes. Toxic materials or chemicals in litter can be blown or washed into forests, oceans and eventually can pollute waterways. In addition, a large volume of travelers can cause infrastructure problems to fragile sites of historical interest. However, the mentioned impacts can be fixed if the government invests in infrastructure by repairing and enhancing on a regular basis and environment by introducing legislation to prohibit visitors from dropping litter indiscriminately.

In conclusion, from all the reasons mentioned above, I am strongly convinced that the merits of international tourism are more significant than its drawbacks.