It is becoming very common these days for students to take courses over the Internet instead of in face-to-face classrooms. Why are more students choosing this way of learning? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the method of virtual learning is becoming more and more prevalent for students to opt for rather than conventional classrooms. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this phenomenon before including that this development is overall positive.

The increasing popularity of online learning has stemmed from its unmatched cost-effectiveness and flexibility. Previously, not only did students and teachers need to expend time, effort, and fuel costs on travelling to brick-and-mortar classrooms, but institutions also had to cover overhead expenses, including classroom rentals, facility maintenance, and utility bills. Conversely, virtual education could eliminate the need to commute for both teachers and students, which would boost their flexibility regarding schedules. Additionally, this method might offer a reduction in physical facilities and infrastructure, thereby mitigating operational costs and in turn a significant investment in educational quality.

I am convinced that online learning is generally positive due to its unprecedented attributes. In contemporary society, virtual education is able to address the requirement of digital literacy that plays an essential role for the purpose of technological development. More specifically, it necessitates students and teachers having fundamental digital competencies such as managing documents, conducting collective projects, or interacting via online discussions. In addition, teachers could significantly save time and energy by leveraging the ability of this education model to generate quizzes and score students’ assignments instantly, thereby dedicating more effort to preparing lessons and supporting students.

In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind the tendency to enroll in virtual classrooms and this model of learning is positive in general.