It is important for children, young adults, working people and the retired to have at least one hobby. What's your opinion about this?

Today, adults are expected to grow out of hobbies they used to enjoy in their childhood. I truly believe that it is a widespread misconception. Hobbies bring more than just joy, that is why I agree that people of all ages should have at least one.

First and foremost, hobbies are about discipline. Individuals having activities they do on a regular basis are more disciplined than those who do not. My mother is a perfect example of a person who used to have a lot of free time activities and still managed to keep up with all the homework and daily tasks being a teenager. As soon as she became older and started university, she dropped her dance and singing classes. As a result, she got a bit of extra free time and did not know what to fill it up with. Consequently, she started to postpone some university assignments as she knew she had some extra spare time. Not only did she lose her time-management skills, but also, she fell behind on her assignments. Thus, I was always told that if the schedule is packed with different activities and hobbies you will not miss anything.

Secondly, hobbies are the usefull tool for self-improvement. People tend to quit hobbies when they struggle to get the hang of them immediately. However, the only understanding that you get better at something with practice worth to keep it up. My grandmother is retired, and she has recently taken up kneeting. It is only after two months of practice she started noticing her own progress. Being retired she has a plenty of free time, and as she is a keen kneeter now, she always looks up for new information that can help her improve her skills. Moreover, hobbies can significantly contribute to the person’s open-mindedness and therefore positively influence an individual’s life. For example, learning a foreign language teaches to respect different cultures. Thus, free time activities can benefit everyone.

To sum up, I strongly agree with the idea that everybody should have a hobby. Hobbies are a good way to acquire time-management skills and to stay disciplined. In addition to this, free time activities helps people not to give up and be willing to get new and valuable knowledge.