It is important for everyone, including young people, to save money for their future. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is argued that it is crucial for people to accumulate wealth for their future. While I agree with the notion that saving money is essential for leading a balanced life, I think people should avoid excessive frugality.

There are several reasons why saving money for the future is a beneficial habit. Firstly, those who have a strong desire to purchase impulsively might be able to curb their habit by trying to save money as well as they can, gradually leading to more economical lifestyles and avoiding excessive consumerism. Secondly, parents who routinely save a portion of their income for their offspring often have brought up more academically successful children. For instance, the renowned biologist Charles Darwin once said that due to the costly nature of academia, without the financial help of his father, he would not have been able to pursue his academic career. Finally, as financial problems are recognized as a major contributor to stress and other mental issues, by avoiding financial indulgences, individuals would be able to lead healthier lives.

However, I believe that excessive frugality could lead to undesirable consequences. For example, those who are obsessed with hoarding money, often suffer from poverty throughout their lives and die without properly utilizing their accumulated wealth. Moreover, a narrow approach towards frugality may lead to an individual’s buying less durable but cheaper products in order to save money in the short term but having to purchase the same product multiple times. Furthermore, from a social perspective, making some extravagant purchases is sometimes seen as a symbol of prestige, resulting in a person’s higher profile in society and increasing their reputation.

In conclusion, while I agree that people should save money for their future needs, I believe an obsession with this approach can have detrimental consequences.