It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recent study suggests that there are insufficient numbers of applicants for studying STEM subjects across some countries in the world. This educational phenomenon is related to the infrastructure issues in those countries, also to the social and political factors as well. This essay will debunk these causes and also elaborate how these can bring negative impacts to the general public.

To begin with, prospective students need an education that is promising for their future, thus making countries with underdeveloped STEM facilities more likely to experience this phenomenon. Lack of facilities would lead to insufficient jobs provided in those fields. Students will be hesitant to apply for any science subjects because they would not see themselves as human resources needed in their countries.

Furthermore, social and political factors play significant roles as well to make the younger generation have little interest in studying science subjects. Countries that have well-developed STEM education usually are more stable socially and politically, meaning that less social conflicts and wars, or more likely to have a good body of governance. On the other hand, other countries who possess those issues will find difficulty in developing their science education, because they need to fix those basic problems first. It causes their youth to be more active in social studies, rather than sciences.

Consequently, this type of phenomenon will impact the general public greatly. First of all, with the increasing number of science subjects losing their pupils, the country also will lose their future human resources in STEM fields. It means in the future, there will be less science research, innovations and techs. It will also lead to less jobs for citizens in STEM fields, since the government will hire foreigners to become scientists.. The next effect is the inability to manage their own natural resources. Since most locals are not professional in sciences, the government cannot manage their natural resources properly and need assistance from multinational companies to handle them.

To sum up, the lack of students in science subjects is mostly because of the infrastructure issues in their countries, also because of the social and political issues. These have negative impacts on the general public since they will be dependent on other countries.