It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The causes of numerous students opting not to pursue science as a career path are likely due to a loss of appreciation for being a scientist and that young students don’t possess the same dedication previous generation of students had to study a complex topic such as science. This certainly impacts society in a negative away due to less scientific discovery.

To begin with, science used to hold a higher level of prestige and respect in the past that is no longer apparent today. It used to be appealing because it was one of the only subjects offered in educational insitutions and it promised job security post-education. However, in today’s world, there are endless options of subjects and careers to pursue which offer similar job security and earning potential such as being a social media influencer.

In addition, the field of science requires a tremendous amount of time and energy to understand. It requires more research and analysis than other subjects. Due to the development of short attention span in young students from their regular use of technology, they can no longer tolerate time-consuming studies and would rather pursue a more general subject like business.

The decrease in science-purseuing students also means a decrease in future scienctists, resulting in fewer future studies. A significant reduction in research will result in less discovery of valuable information and thus, not as many solutions to major and urgent scientific problems in our world.

In summary, the subject of science is not as appealing to students because there are more subject options and the personal devotion to learning the subject is no longer tolerable. Consequently, less scientific research will be made and less solutions will be found for our science-related problems in the world.