It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many states, students in colleges and universities are trying to avoid choosing to study science as a subject. Personally, I believe that there are several reasons for this phenomenon.

Firstly, the most common reason, in my opinion, is low salaries and a lack of jobs in the scientific field. Working in this area is not prestigious or popular because of this, and only people who are truly in love with being a scientist can choose this direction. According to statistics, the level of scientists’ salaries in Russia in 2024 is one and a half times lower than the average pay in the country. Obviously, graduates do not want to be paid so little for their work in the future.

Secondly, the learning process in this field is much more complex than in other areas. Undergraduates need to work harder, pay more attention, and spend more time studying if they want to succeed. Not every person at that young age wants to do this and usually prefers to choose an easier way. Lack of motivation to learn directly affects the choice of direction, and that is why options with easier learning are more popular.

The situation with the reduction of workers in the scientific sphere can have a negative impact on modern society. Thanks to these people, technology, medicine, and other important sectors are developing. For example, Germany’s economy in 2022 was threatened by a lack of skilled workers in research centers, and on the back of labor market problems, the country’s GDP declined by 3%.

In conclusion, graduates in many parts of the world refuse to commit their lives to science because of poor working conditions. States should allocate more funds and inculcate a love for academics in the younger generation to progress vital industries and improve the economic condition of the country.