It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It is evident that in some countries there are not enough students who want to study in science. In my opinion, it is caused by the change of interest and this can cause the shortage of scientists in the future that will harm humanity itself. This essay aims to elaborate the cause and its impact to the society.

First of all, the interest toward science subject has been declined over the past year. This is mainly due to the shift of interest among students. The advancement of technology and social media make students focusing more on their social life both online and offline. Some surveys also concluded that students nowadays want to be an influencer instead of working as a researcher. Therefore, the admission for the science programs had declined.

Moreover, the students nowadays find subjects on scientific field are more difficult to learn compared to other fields that do not need lots of memorizations and experiments. Thus, in order to fulfill their parents expectation in education, they prefer to learn social science in which they feel more comfortable and easier to learn.

If this trend continues without proper intervention, there will be less scientists in the future. Technology needs to adapt with challenges and not enough people who work on the respective fields will bring harm to humanity. For instance, if there are less people to conduct research on cancer or engineers to develop cancer treatment devices, more people will die because the evolution of bacteries and virus make them resistant to the current treatment..

In conclusion, decreasing number of students want to study sciences subject is derived from change of interest from the subjects and the difficulty to learn them. These situations, unfortunately, will bring threat to the existence of human being if they are not addressed properly.