It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are causes? And what will be the effects on society?

In recent years, there have been noticeably fewer students opting to study science subjects, causing significant concern. This decline stems from several causes, and if left unchecked, it is likely to become a threat to human development.

There are certain explanations for the reduction in science enrolment. The principal cause is, perhaps, an aversion to difficulty among students. Even for typical fields such as mathematics, physics, and chemistry, the intellectual rigors required can be staggering, and thus, many students would come to perceive them as arduous and demanding. Besides that, humanities and liberal arts disciplines present students with more comfortable choices. In higher education, business, language, and social studies are usually regarded as less intensive with respect to problem-solving, making them less strenuous overall. Taking these points into consideration, it is understandable that many students would look upon hard science subjects with tepidity and detachment.

This diminished interest likely presents two major threats to progress. A foreseeable impact, firstly, is the shortage of skilled scientists and technological innovators. This deficit would undoubtedly stall research and development, limiting a society’s ability to solve complex problems or produce solutions for improving human life. Even more detrimental, however, is that such a lack of interest may disintegrate the complex infrastructural systems that many people seem to take for granted. Without enough technologically-minded workers, future generations will be ill-equipped to take over and maintain crucial infrastructure when its current custodians retire. Incidents such as power outages or plane crashes are avoidable, but will happen more and more in this scenario, throttling productivity and causing catastrophic damage. It could, therefore, be argued that human development will stagnate unless more students engage in the hard sciences.

In conclusion, the declining enrollment in scientific disciplines is a pressing issue. As its causes and consequences are clear, to reverse this trend, immediate attention and rectification are needed to induce a change in the perception of the sciences.