It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are causes? And what will be the effects on society?

In the contemporary milieu, it is pointed out that the number of student attending science classes decrease in some nations. This essay sheds light on the reasons of the aforementioned statement before emphasizing the impacts it brings on the society.

This trend stems from several reasons, ranging from the loss of interest to limited career opportunities. To commence with, science lessons in school linked to overemphasis on theory, lacking hands-on laboratory experiment. With subjects involving a lots of abstract concepts like physics or biology, students have to gain a deep understanding of strange phenomena or development process of human, flora or fauna but are given less chances to apply this knowledge in real-world situations. This phenomenon, and hence, driving these subjects to be dull and dry. Furthermore, limited career options and lower income could be another factor influencing students’ pursuits. In today’s fast-paced world, individuals follow occupations referred as high-paying and having further development prospects including economics or IT in lieu of science-related ones which are associated with laboratory, even gives rise to health ailments such as respiratory disease if touching chemical too much.

When it comes to the societal impacts from this worrying trend, it affects from both individuals and economic scales. To begin with, the lack of science knowledge hinders students’ comprehensive growth. Science subjects allow children to explore the world surrounding them that fosters their critical thinking, curiosity, and then affect positively brain development. The lack of these soft skills make difficulties for individuals to deal with barriers they have in real life. This issue is even exacerbated in economy scale since a shortage in scientific workforce impact on stagnation of discovering and making use of available sources of nations in potential fields like technologies, thereby widening poor-rich gap in global market.

In conclusion, the ignorance of science subjects derives from teaching methods and limited job requirements and it brings about doldrums of students and economic development. To solve this issue, schools should change their ways of supplying knowledge to students and the government should use national budget to support ones who devote to science investigation.