It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are causes? And what will be the effects on society?

STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. Nowadays, students are steering away from these subjects, especially science. This essay will explore possible reasonings and thier consequences if this issue fails to be resolved.

School education is a cumulative curriculum, in which one needs to have a strong foundation of previous subjects in order to understand the advanced level of said subject. Many children lack this foundation due to many reasons, one being the boring nature of the science class. Science should be a fun and intuitive experience. If the educator resorts only to a traditional method of teaching, then he or she are not qualified for the job. Science needs to be hands-on; the student has to experience the concept in order to fully get the concept, as did their discoverers. The aforementioned class should require less memorization and more demonstration. Frequent laboratory visits are encouraged, too.

The community as whole- mothers, fathers, teachers, and decision-makers- need to step up to fix this problem, for the damage will be irreversible. Initially, a depression in scientific research will be noticed, but few know of its detrimental effects. Less innovation and breakthroughs will hinder the country’s development rate, turning it from developed country to a developing one in the worst case scenario. Plus, in this day and age, the state of staying the same is the equivalent of decline.

This matter should be resolved and stopped in this generation immediately, otherwise the cycle will continue, and the new generation will stay repulsed from the tool of the future that is science.