Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops in many cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this change?

In the recent years, urban areas small markets are replaced by supermarkets. This is because of urban developments. This shifting has both positive and negative impacts on the society and citizens. This essay will display some of the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

On the one hand, replacing small shops by large shopping malls has benefits. First, it boosts the regional economy because the prospered commerce plays a significant role in economic prosperity. Secondly, it offers more convenience to local people, as large malls provide all the needs. Therefore, inhabitants don’t need to go far for shopping. Thirdly, prices are more satisfied in malls than in shops. So, finally, this shifting can create more job opportunities for people.

On the other hand, this change encourages some bad behaviors, such as excessive purchasing of products without any essential needs. As a result, many issues have appeared, like pollution and unhealthy problems, such as obesity and diabetes. Additionally, supermarkets need many shop owners to lose their jobs because people prefer big malls rather than small markets.

In conclusion, this development has numerous advantages for local economy and individuals, creating many job opportunities. However, it has negative impacts on clients’ attitudes that can lead to serious consequences.