Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

The English language is used globally which makes it important for young pupils to learn it if they want to have open career options in the long run. However, the schools focus more on teachings of the English language rather than the local language. The following essay will evaluate whether it’s good to prioritize the English language over the local language while stating the disadvantages and advantages of both sides.

Many schools prioritise learning of the English language. Exams are conducted in English and even the syllabus content is explained using English instead of the local language. Teachers prefer to communicate with the students and present the lecture in English whereas the local language is only taught to students as a single subject. Schools start teaching English from the first day of school to the last and it can be seen as a really useful resource to students when they graduate from school and enter the professional life. The English language is important as it is a requirement for any job application, useful in communication when traveling or when the student wishes to study abroad.

While learning the English language might come with its benefits; it can also bring down the local language of a country. By prioritizing the English language the local languages are at the risk of dying out. Many people can’t read or write their local language but seem to be fluent in English so the schools should try to teach both languages on the same level instead of giving one language more importance over the other. Schools can ensure the survival of the local languages by indulging the students in activities such as debating competitions or creative writing competitions conducted in the local language.

In conclusion, it is important to teach English in schools as the language may help students in many aspects of their life such as when applying for a job or going for their studies abroad. However, the schools should still prioritise the local language on an equal level as English so the local language doesn’t die out.